How long should my chain be ?

Very much value you help and advice as I am a newbie to road bikes and I don't trust YouTube.
Bought a new bike on eBay recently.
Specialized Roubaix 2018 Sport.
It came with a single ring crankset. Sram Force 1 carbon chainset 40t,
Miche close ratio cassette 12-29t and a KMC X11EL 11 Speed Extra Light Chain
I have changed this back to a "normal" easier to ride bike as it once was.
I have fitted a Shimano 105 compact crank 34-50t and a Shimano 105 rear cassette. The 105 rear deraileur is long cage, I left that in place.
I have bought a new KMC X11EL 11 Speed Extra Light Chain and fitted that also straight from the box.
Before I fitted the new chain I noticed that the old chain on the old single ring setup was shorter, I counted 4 links shorter.
My question is ...... is there a way of working how long your chain needs to be? How long does my chain need to be for my new setup. Do I need to take links out of my brand new chain. I'm okay with doing this, I have a chain pin removal tool.
Many thanks in advance for you answers. I'm very keen to learn from your knowledge, cheers.

Comments

• Sorry I should have mentioned the new Shimano 105 cassette is 11-32t
  • david37
    david37 Posts: 1,313
    edited August 2020
    use the big big plus 2 links method for ease. use a marker pen mark the cut at the appropriate place. check out the park tool tutorial.
  • de_sisti
    de_sisti Posts: 1,283
    Baileysim said:

I have bought a new KMC X11EL 11 Speed Extra Light Chain

Wasn't there some fitting instructions (stating how long the chain should be) included in the packaging?
  • davidof
    davidof Posts: 3,036
    david37 said:

use the big big plus 2 links method for ease. use a marker pen mark the cut at the appropriate place.

and always use a new hacksaw blade
    BASI Nordic Ski Instructor
    Instagramme
  • ================
    2020 Voodoo Marasa
    2017 Cube Attain GTC Pro Disc 2016
    2016 Voodoo Wazoo
  • wongataa