Ditching The Spare Tube

Hello chaps.

I’ve been running tubeless for about five years now. In all of that time I’ve only had to fit a tube as a last resort once. That was only because I’d been neglectful on checking the sealant levels after along period of time and there was no sealant left to seal the tyre. This is something I’ve never made the same mistake with again.

I’ve only had to use tyre plugs twice. It goes without saying that the tubeless system on a MTB is a fantastic development. I’ve covered thousands of miles of XC riding with minimal fuss and at this stage I’m feeling pretty confident that the spare tube and tyre levers I constantly carry are absolutely pointless.

I’m considering slim lining my saddle pack to just a multi tool, spare chain links, spare valve core, cable ties and tyre plugs. This will enable me to use a smaller neater pack under the saddle.

I’d probably still carry the tube and tyre levers on rides further away from home - or long distances, but local rides from my doorstep at a duration of 1 - 2 hours I’m seriously thinking of just forgetting about carrying a tube.

Has anyone else stopped carrying spare tubes? I’m just curious really, is it tempting fate? What’s your experiences?

The reality is I’ve never needed a tube since going tubeless and maintaining the fluid levels correctly.

Comments

• whyamihere
    whyamihere Posts: 7,695
    I base it on how long the walk back would be in the worst case scenario. If at most it will be a 20 minute walk, I won't bother with packing a tube. If it's longer, I'll take one as an insurance policy.
  • steve_sordy
    steve_sordy Posts: 2,443
    edited August 2020
    I'm with you almost 100% here.

I say "almost" because I went for much longer than 5 years without a flat of any kind. I began to think that all the stuff I carried was useless: