Creaking Noise

Hi, apologies if this is in the wrong section, I'm new to road bikes and I'm just looking for a steer on where to look to stop the creaking noise I get whenever Im climbing or asserting more pressure on the pedals than normal. Ive recently installed a 105 set onto a trek domane al2. I changed the bb and made sure it was correctly cleaned out and lubricated. Is it the bb that makes the noise and how do I stop it?

Many Thanks
Dave

Comments

• Start on the pinned post in this section.
  • First.Aspect
    First.Aspect Posts: 14,498
    It could be your knees.
  • pinno
    pinno Posts: 51,196
    edited August 2020
    A quick look up of the BB and it's this: "Shimano UN30, 68 mm, threaded cartridge, 110 mm spindle"

Is that correct?

If so, there's not much reason for it to creak unless it's old or loose. Did it creak before the swap over?

Check:
    Cleats
    Chainring bolts
    Pedals
    Cranks Bolts to spindle
    seanoconn - gruagach craic!
  • Could be cleats, is there groan when when you push hard on the cleat?
  • Thank you all so much, it's the BBR-60 bottom bracket, it's not push fit which I read was problematic. I will try the above and report back. It's just when I get out of the saddle to struggle up the hills it makes a really nasty creek and it sounds like it's under my feet so will try pedals, cleats etc tomorrow. Thanks again.
  • I had to completely replace the old bb as it wasnt compatible with the 105 crankset but it wasnt making a creaking noise before.
  • Sounds ridiculous, but have you tried dabbing a bit of grease on your front fork dropouts?

Quite a common problem- particularly if you've washed your bike recently.

This isn't some elaborate hoax- small amount of grease on your dropouts will have zero effect on clamping force. Try it before you start ripping your bike apart...
  • pinno