£3,000 on cycletowork to spend... Please help!

Hi guys,
I'm fairly new to cycling and just trying to get in to it this year. I'm looking at the cycle to work scheme and happy to pay up to £3000 (-42% on the scheme).

There are so many bikes out there it's difficult to know what to go for, or in that vein, what to avoid.

Has anyone got any suggestions?

I'm briefly looking at:
Carbon
<8kg
105 or above
Disc brakes
Endurance class (see my other post about knee and ass pain)
Super comfortable

Thanks everyone
L

Comments

• joe_totale-2
    joe_totale-2 Posts: 1,333
    edited July 2020
    Canyon Endurace ticks your boxes although availability isn't great for smaller sizes:

https://www.canyon.com/en-gb/road-bikes/endurance-bikes/endurace/endurace-cf-sl-disc-8.0/2185.html?dwvar_2185_pv_rahmenfarbe=BK/GY

IIRC Canyon take Cycle 2 work now.

You aren't going to get much lighter if you're looking at a "super comfortable", "endurance" disc brake bike at your budget.
  • singleton
    singleton Posts: 2,489
    Cannondale Synapse carbon would be worth a look.
  • Around that price you could have pretty much anything you want. Canyon will get you more for your money and seriously impressive bikes. Partner got the disc ultimate with ultegra for under 2.5k. It’s very light and a lovely looking bike. Integrated flat top handlebar is much more comfortable too apparently.
  • londoncommuter
    londoncommuter Posts: 1,550
    Which scheme as Canyon don't take CycleScheme so you may have to ignore some of the above?

Obviously you are going to use this to commute on and aren't considering tax evasion?
  • 3 grand is quite a healthy budget for a commuter bike. All of the suggestions above are worth looking at, the main issue right now would be availability though. We are just about at the point where most manufacturers are starting to introduce / look to the 2021 model years.
  • me-109
    me-109 Posts: 1,915