Which bars?

Guys, a bit of handlebar buying advice if you will..

I want to buy some new bars for my Whyte G170.
Why?? Because I fancy spending some cash on something nice! Nothing more, nothing less... (at least I’m honest)

Now, I want the carbon Renthal bars, they’re quite pricey and I want to buy the bend that’s best suited to me, rather than just buying a set off the shelf.

I have plenty of experience with motocross bars- 30 years racing taught me what kind of bend & height worked or didn’t work for me.

I know, I know this is ultimately all down to personal preference, but what I’m asking is if there’s a rough guide to what a given type of rider/physique/terrain is suited to a certain type of bar bend/height/width?

I’m fairly short at 5’7”
I ride Friston, will be doing as much BPW & Rogate as I can In coming months.

Yeah some might say I’m over thinking it and they’re right! But I thought I better check- at £100+ for a set of bars I’d hate to buy something only to find it’s not ideally suited to what I’m using it for or my physique.

TIA.

Comments

• reaperactual
    reaperactual Posts: 1,185
    If the bars you have now work for you buy the same. Match stem clamp diameter, rise (bend), back sweep and width except in carbon if you 'fancy spending some cash on something nice'
  • steve_sordy
    steve_sordy Posts: 2,443
    I bought a Renthal Lite alloy bar, loved it! When I bought another bike I switched the stock bar for a Renthal carbon bar. Wow! It felt as though every rock had had its corners rounded off just for me. The trail buzz disappeared and the ride felt super smooth. That feeling lasted a week and then became the new normal.

This is an opportunity to check your ideal bar width.
    Lay a tape measure on the floor and assume the press up position. Do a few to make sure you are comfortable. Measure across the outside of your hands. That will be your best bar width.