Lost 10 stone. Now back on a mtb, unfortunately, I feel like I'm absolute garbage compared to others

Hi everyone,

I'm back on hear after many years. So I'm still new to hear I guess.

When I was in my teens, I abolutely loved mountain biking - I was obsessed. Although, I wasn't a good mtb'er back then, I couldn't do jumps, I couldn't do big drop offs, I came off alot but got straight back on, it didn't matter. One day I thought Im going to do it, I'm gonna jump my bike. I felt like crap seeing all these guys jumping there bikes and I wanted to do the same. I tried it and..... Smack!! I hit the deck and my handlebars tore the skin and muscle off my thigh as the handlebar went thru my leg... This required surgery to remove the dead muscle and skin and stitch me back together. Even though I was in my teens I was still 19 stone and 6ft 5.

After 8 or so years off my back I ballooned upto 28 stone at the age of 22. I was depressed, suicidal, and angry. In 18 months or so I have lost 10 stone thru hard work on excerise and nutrition. I wanted to get back on a bike. I'm 24 now and bought a mtb again.... A Marin Pine Mountain 1.... No suspension but it feels solid - I love it.

I really want to increase my skills and carry on losing weight, but I still feel a crap rider because I can't lift those wheels of the ground for the fear of the same happening again. I feel like a don't deserve a decent mountain bike because I can't even do a simple skill such as jumping. I see other big guys on YouTube jumping there bikes and I feel absolutely fuming at myself. I love shredding down the hills, wheeling, trackstanding - I can do all that, but I fear air time.

Please can anyone give me any advice into how I can't become a better rider, I'm autistic so I don't know if I'm overthinking or overcomplicating things. Can you have decent mountain bike and still not jump it? I feel daft I can't jump. How can I work on this? How can I stop this bloody fear?

Any advice would be great,