Zwift setup or winter bike?

hello my dears
I have been riding as an adult for about 2 years.
I have a Via nirone7 and no zwift equipment ie trainer or ipad and I've never experienced zwift.
I am saving up either for a trainer/ipad or a winter bike, so what does a good winter bike need for uk conditions, ans is zwift as fun/rewarding as road riding?

thanks for any input

Comments

• me-109
    me-109 Posts: 1,915
    A good winter bike needs clearance for full lifeguards, not flimsy strap-on things. Be wary that many bikes have mudguard or pannier mounts but very little clearance, especially with bigger/wider tyres. Also, there are road disc bikes that are still at the sporty end of the spectrum that won't fit the bill either.
  • fenix
    fenix Posts: 5,437
    A winter bike used to be your old summer bike fitted with mudguards.

As has been said. Full proper guards are best and clearances for bigger tyres. Also a cheaper groupset for the crappier weather.

Zwift is great but you have to be keen to use it. There's thousands of turbos that get very little use.

You might be able to pick up a bargain after lockdown is relaxed.
  • wotnoshoeseh
    wotnoshoeseh Posts: 531
    Get a winter bike - I tried Zwift, albeit on a dumb trainer, and thought it rubbish.

I have one of those "thousands of turbos" that fenix refers to above.

Real roads, real miles in real weather - there's no substitute.
    I don't think the VN7 will take full guards though....if you are going to go that way.
  • pblakeney
    pblakeney Posts: 25,589
    tokenvelo said:

hello my dears
    I have been riding as an adult for about 2 years.
    I have a Via nirone7 and no zwift equipment ie trainer or ipad and I've never experienced zwift.
    I am saving up either for a trainer/ipad or a winter bike, so what does a good winter bike need for uk conditions, ans is zwift as fun/rewarding as road riding?

thanks for any input