Silent vs clicking free wheeling

After several years of illness where the only bike I could ride was an electric bike I got better sold the ebike and bought a proper bike. I bought a 2015 Specialized Roubaix with Fulcrum 5 racing wheels and absolutely loved it, the total silence when I’m having a rest and freewheeling is a joy, so peaceful. It was slightly too big frame for me and the rim brakes were making me anxious so I decided to upgrade and spent a lot of money on a new bike. A mint condition 2018 Roubaix custom built, full Dura Ace spec, super lightweight, amazing braking with the disc brakes. The problem is the Roval CL32 wheels, namely the ticking noise on the rear hub when it is free-wheeling. I’ve been told that Fulcrum is owned by Campagnola and their hubs are differently made and are silent. What would anyone recommend for me to get my rear hub silent? Can I just change the hub or the bearings in the CL32 rear wheel? Thanks for helping a total novice.

Comments

• pblakeney
    pblakeney Posts: 25,595
    edited April 2020
    I like a noisy hub. Saves having to fit a bell.
    You certainly have to change the freewheel. I don't know if you can do that on those wheels.
    The above may be fact, or fiction, I may be serious, I may be jesting.
    I am not sure. You have no chance.
    Veronese68 wrote:
    PB is the most sensible person on here.
  • Charlie_Croker
    Charlie_Croker Posts: 1,696
    Hi, the ticking comes from the pawls (in the freehub) falling as you freewheel, perfectly normal. Changing the hub is perhaps on option but drastic. I too don't like the loud ticking sound when freewheeling. So I oil my freehub with old style motor oil (20w50), not synthetic or semi-synthetic or any other super slippery stuff, simply because it doesn’t last as long. It’s difficult to get the oil in sometimes, but it does work at least for me

• Thank you for such a detailed reply
  • redvision
    redvision Posts: 2,958