Giant contend 1 tyre options

I have just bought a giant contend 1 2017 model, my first time going out and I get a puncture from a bump in the road which pinched the tube, is there a tyre or tube combination that will be better to prevent this happening again? Or will I be better off going for a bigger tyre and if so, does anyone know what size I could go up to? Thanks in advance.

Comments

• joe_totale-2
    joe_totale-2 Posts: 1,333
    Were your tyres inflated adequately? Not having enough air in the tyre is often a cause of pinch punctures.
  • Sorry forgot to mention, my tyres are Giant S-R4 700x25C
  • To be honest I didn’t check the pressures, so that could of been the reason why, I just gave them a squeeze and felt hard. Would it be worth trying wider tyres or do you think repair/replace the tube then have another go at the correct pressures? I’m new to road bikes with the narrow tyres, didn’t seem like it was that hard of a bump
  • joe_totale-2
    joe_totale-2 Posts: 1,333

To be honest I didn’t check the pressures, so that could of been the reason why, I just gave them a squeeze and felt hard. Would it be worth trying wider tyres or do you think repair/replace the tube then have another go at the correct pressures? I’m new to road bikes with the narrow tyres, didn’t seem like it was that hard of a bump

Replace the tube, no point spending far more money on new tyres.

I'd also buy a decent track pump if you don't already have one otherwise you'll get pinch punctures no matter what tyres you use.
  • Thanks joe and oxoman, I don’t have a track pump so will look at getting one and a new tube at the same time.
  • smethley
    smethley Posts: 45
    If you are 75kg, you will typically run 75/95 psi f/r on 25mm tyres. Less for 28s, more if you're heavier. You really need a pressure gauge; good track pumps have them built-in.