What is the length of your daily cycle commute?

13»

Comments

• After not owning a bike for 20-odd years, I started riding in to work in September. It's 12m / 19km each way.
    I do it 3-4 times a week and I'm hoping that at some point I'll stop being so knackered on day 3!!
  • monkimark
    monkimark Posts: 1,451
    It never gets any easier, you just get faster...
  • warreng
    warreng Posts: 535
    I do 16 miles from Epsom to London each day. It takes an hour but I don't seem to be getting any fitter - quite the opposite
    2015 Cervelo S3
    2016 Santa Cruz 5010
    2016 Genesis Croix de Fer
  • mrfpb
    mrfpb Posts: 4,569
    monkimark said:

It never gets any easier, you just get faster...

Once you get faster, you can choose to go slower and not arrive in a sweaty mess.
    The difference for me between sweaty mess and warm glow is only about 0.5mph.
  • monkimark
    monkimark Posts: 1,451
    In theory but I've never been great at pacing myself, i always seem to ride at sweaty mess pace - lucky I have showers at work.
  • andyh01
    andyh01 Posts: 599
    My current commute is around 5 miles bit up and down. AVG moving speed is 17mph moving time 15mins, total time 20 mins, elapsed time 25 mins.... Shower... Change... Door to desk approx 50 mins....
    Bike is currently my only option not cost effective or convenient...

I've turned down jobs previously due to commuting distance circa 12-20 miles each way.... I feel that I would be able to handle it physically 5 days a week (not accounting illnesses) ... However my question is how to fit it all in ? I have young family too and when I looked at it would be around an hour to hour and half with traffic/traffic lights etc then 20-30 mins getting sorted and 5 min breather before starting the day so if 9 start would have to leave around 7am work to 5 or 530 home for 7pn so basically 7-7 days
  • 14 miles each way to Heathrow and back 3/4 times a week, no climbing just a couple of motorway bridges.