Bib shorts for newbie cyclist

Hi all,

I’m relatively new to cycling and struggling with comfort in the saddle. I have a bike fitting coming up at which I’ll discuss saddle options but for bib shorts do people have any experience with any of the following -
Rapha Core
Rapha classic bib shorts II
Assos Mille GT
Assos T Equipe Evo
Le Col sport

My primary requirement is comfort on long rides whilst I build up endurance/cycling fitness.

I’m guessing I can’t really go wrong with any of them.

Comments

• Longshot
    Longshot Posts: 940
    It's a bit 'horses for courses' annoyingly. What one person loves you might find picnhes or rubs - everyone's anatomy is a bit different.

All of those you've stated have a good reputation and get good reviews. I'm generally a cheapskate and avoid the real premium brands but I did buy some Assos Equipe bibshorts last year in their sale and find them very comfortable.
    You can fool some of the people all of the time. Concentrate on those people.
  • mrb123
    mrb123 Posts: 4,583
    My personal favourites are Pactimo. The RRP is pretty steep but they regularly have substantial discounts or codes available.

Also worth considering Galibier and Lusso for some slightly lower priced alternatives.
  • joe_totale-2
    joe_totale-2 Posts: 1,333
    edited March 2020
    Unfortunately fit is a very personal thing and what works for one person doesn't or another. The last thing you want are shorts that are a bit loose and hence the pad starts moving around and causing chafing.

Once you find a good brand whose products fit you well (For me, DHB and Santini are good) then I find you become very loyal to them!
  • Usual "everyone is different" caveat aside, Pactimo Summit Stratos bibs are superb. Not cheap, but worth it for me. Sign up for the reward points scheme, with a bit of gaming it you can get a discount.