Fixing Triban RC120 gears - locked down in Italy

Hi,

Im locked down in Italy and all the bike shops are shut, so I’m having to learn quickly how to fix stuff myself and am a complete novice. Would appreciate some advice about a very specific problem I’m having.

My new bike was having problems with the gears - shifting up and down and also catching on the front derailleur. I ordered it online so have a feeling it wasnt serviced before they sent it out.

I tried to fix this by following various online videos, particularly focused on high/low settings for the derailleurs, the cable tension, indexing etc.

Now it shifts down gears pretty smoothly but when im in the lowest gear at the rear/biggest sprocket, when I shift up it jumps 3 or four gears, so its just 2 clicks from lowest to highest, when there are 7 gears.

I’ve tried fiddling with the tension indexing etc, but its no good.

Any suggestions as to what the problem might be and how to fix it? I’d really like to be able to use the bike for a bit of exercise, but at the moment its basically unusable unless i stay in top or bottom gear.

Cheers

Dan

Comments

• I'd make sure everything is moving smoothly. Lube the derailleurs and make sure the cables are moving freely and not bent or caught in anyway. Make sure the rear wheel is full inserted into the dropouts. You said 7 speed but isn't it a 8 speed cassette on the back?

The dual derailleur setup is a rubbish engineering solution in my opinion. Remember you don't do small to small or big to big on the cogs if the front derailleur is touching the chain in those that is pretty normal i.e. 52F > 34R or 34F > 11R because the chain line is so extreme. A 16 speed bike doesn't really have 16 gears, you can probably eliminate 4 of those gears that you shouldn't be using. I only write that as I've seen people complain about the the front derailleur touching the chain but they were using an extreme angled chain line.