Kona Honzo vs Trek Pro-caliber 8

Hi,

First time poster looking to buy my first mountain bike in years.

Can anyone give me a nudge on which of the below to go for? Or should I be looking at something else? Will be a mix of cross country and trail riding.

https://www.gooutdoors.co.uk/15910019/kona-honzo-15910019

https://www.evanscycles.com/trek-procaliber-8-2019-mountain-bike-EV340643

Thanks

Comments

• whyamihere
    whyamihere Posts: 7,701
    Both look good. The Trek probably has a slightly better spec (especially the drivetrain), but it is quite a racy XC bike. That's not to say you can't ride techy or jumpy trails on it, but the Kona should be a bit better for that, with a slightly longer fork and a dropper out of the box.
  • jlwhitworth1
    jlwhitworth1 Posts: 5
    edited March 2020
    Thanks for the reply, I appreciate it. I’m really unsure on which to go for, I’m a complete beginner if I’m honest as I’ve not been on a mountain bike for years.

If you were to pick which would you suggest?

Or Are there any other bikes at this price point I should be looking at?

What about any 27.5+? A few people have recommended the likes of the trek roscoe 7 as a good first bike that would be a more subtle ride and give a bit more confidence due to the plus sized tyres. Any thoughts on this?

Thanks
  • JBA
    JBA Posts: 2,852
    The Merlin Malt+ is on offer. Very similar geo to the Trek but better forks.

The 2019 Giant Fathom 1 is a good deal from Paul's Cycles. Decent forks and a dropper post as standard.
    “Life has been unfaithful
    And it all promised so so much”

Giant Trance 2 27.5 2016 ¦ Sonder Broken Road 2021¦ Giant Revolt Advanced 2 2019 ¦ Giant Toughtroad SLR 1 2019 ¦ Giant Anthem 3 2015 ¦ Specialized Myka Comp FSR 2009
  • Thanks for the response JBA!

As a beginner what setup would you suggest between a 29er and 27.5+?

And which of the 4 bikes would you go for?
  • JBA
    JBA Posts: 2,852