Tubeless Tyre pressures Query- Tyres say not to go below 30psi?

Hello all, i'd be grateful for some guidance. I'm about to go tubeless on my MTB but I noticed the other evening that my tyres state not to inflate below 30psi. Is this warning only relevant when running inner tubes? I thought one of the benefits of going tubeless meant you could run lower tyre pressures (circa low 20s psi) for increased grip?

Am I over thinking this? Yes, i am new to MTBing! ;)

Comments

• billycool
    billycool Posts: 833
    You are quite right that tubeless set-ups are designed to allow you to run lower tyre pressures. How low you go is up to you and the parameters of grip, tyre roll/burping etc.

Are you tyre tubeless ready/specific? If they are not, that might be why they say 30psi.

What tyres are they?
    Do you have tubeless ready rims?
    "Ride, crash, replace"
  • Hi billycool, thanks for the reply. That would actually make sense but according to the spec sheet the tyres and rims are:

Rims - WTB ST i27 TCS System, pinned joint, tubeless ready
    Tyres -
    (Front) Maxxis High Roller II TR 29x2.3 60TPI, EXO Extra Sidewall Protection, 3C Maxx Terra.
    (Rear) Maxxis Forekaster TR 29x2.35 60TPI, EXO Extra Sidewall Protection, Dual Compound.

Lots to type there, but the tubeless ready on the rims and 'TR' designation on the tyres , I assume, mean i'm good to go.

Perhaps the warning on the tyre is Maxxis's way of offloading the liability should something happen at low pressures?
  • david7m
    david7m Posts: 636
    They will be fine, the 30psi is covering their own bottoms.
  • Thanks Chaps, figured I was overthinking this!
  • billycool

Hi billycool, thanks for the reply. That would actually make sense but according to the spec sheet the tyres and rims are:

Rims - WTB ST i27 TCS System, pinned joint, tubeless ready
    Tyres -
    (Front) Maxxis High Roller II TR 29x2.3 60TPI, EXO Extra Sidewall Protection, 3C Maxx Terra.