Tube in tubless

Im new to tubeless and have bought a bike already set up tubeless
If I get a puncture that doesn’t seal itself , in a emergency would I be able to fit a inner tube to get me home ?
I would have a spare tube with me as my son has same size wheels and isn’t tubeless .

Also any advice on which sealant to have with me if I get a puncture in mine and try to fix by adding a bit of sealant .

Sorry for basic q’s but learning here guys and gals .
Cheers

Comments

• Hiya,

If your bike is set up tubeless it should already have tyre sealant in it. Not real point carrying spare sealant, as if what's in the tyre won't seal it, extra sealant won't help. It just gets really messy!

Sealant can need changing/topping up over time, otherwise it might let you down then you most need it. Some suggest checking it every 6 months. I can't give a specific timeline though.

Carry a spare tube? Yes - absolutley. It can be a life saver for you (and others). Just be aware that a tubeless tyre can easily pick up thorns over time, seal itself and you hardly notice (might need to top up air). If you do an emergency trailside repair and plan to fit a tube, check the WHOLE tyre for thorns, not just the bit you are fixing. My mates record for thorns is his tubeless tyre was 12. Otherwise you'll ruin your tube as soon as you blow it up.

Tubeless tyres can sit quite tight on the rim, so decent (strong) tyre levers are needed and a sensible pump. The use of a tube would suggest a possible split in your tyre and a tyre boot/patch is always useful to have. The tube might squdge out through the split and fail (think of a hernia), so the boot just helps keep the tube in the tyre. A good emergency patch is an empty energy gel satchet. Did that for a bloke in Afan a few years ago and he was very grateful that he could at least ride to the bottom on the trail rathar than walking.

Tubeless is great and pretty low maintainence but a spare tube is well worth carrying.