12 speed chainset

I'm getting the force axs groupset and trying to decide between the Advantages v Disadvantages of 46/33 48/35 chainset.
Any recommendations.

Comments

• Do you understand gear ratios? The question indicates you dont. There are no advantages or disadvantages. It what suits you.

Gear ratios are simple. Top gear is 46/10 that is 1 turn of the crank to 4.6 of the wheel and that gives with your rolling diameter you gear inches or you can calculate cadence at a particular speed.

Work out you max and min gear ratios on your current set up and then see which axs options suit you the best.

Your question is flawed as it is assume a right and wrong answer. That's not the case all there is gear ratios.
    www.thecycleclinic.co.uk
  • Horses for courses. I do understand gear ratios I worked in the bike trade for 12years.
  • Mad_Malx
    Mad_Malx Posts: 5,002
    There is wisdom buried in cycleclinic’s reply but his bedside manner needs more work to bring up to current standards of patient-centred care.

Compare ratios with what you use currently and choose accordingly.

I’d go for the lower gears, but I don’t have your legs. I’d never use a 48x10
  • Maybe he didn't get a valentines card.
  • manglier
    manglier Posts: 1,208
    If you are riding a compact at present then the 46/33 is closest. The 48/35 equates more to a 53/39 on an 11 speed conventional arrangement. There are a few more wrinkles to the new Sram set up but that is the gist of it.
  • I hold my wife's hand not anyone else's. I also dont like telling people what gearing they should choose. It something I believe we should work out for ourselves.

Also that 10t Sram cassette should come with a wallet warning.

"Use of the 10t sprocket will lighten your wallet".

If you think 11T sprockets wear out quickly just wait till you use a 10t. This means go for the bigger rings as you will use the larger sprockets Instead. Wearing out the 10tg sprocket is going to annoy alot of axs users.