26" Bike, off road, jumps etc

Hello,

My middle kid has reached the limits of his 24" Hoy for what he's trying to do, big off road jumps. He's currently hurting himself when he lands as he's taking all the force as no suspension etc. I'm concerned he's going to wreck the bike as well! He's a pretty confident rider, he took my bike home for me one evening when he was 8 for example.

I've got no experience of this off road stuff, only that I'm far too old to be doing jumps as I hit a tree last time I tried last year.

Happy to spend between 300-450. The MTB's from frog/isla seem excessive in cost at double that budget, but if he's likely to wreck any new bike.

For the sort of jumps he's starting to do, I've got him clocked at about 3 foot in the air once, what should I be looking for??

I'm thinking a hard tail XS from decathlon might be ideal? But other options, suggestions welcome!

Comments

• JBA
    JBA Posts: 2,852
    For that budget and activity I'd look for a good second-hand bike.
    “Life has been unfaithful
    And it all promised so so much”

Giant Trance 2 27.5 2016 ¦ Sonder Broken Road 2021¦ Giant Revolt Advanced 2 2019 ¦ Giant Toughtroad SLR 1 2019 ¦ Giant Anthem 3 2015 ¦ Specialized Myka Comp FSR 2009
  • Sadly I'm not into bike specs, so I can't really tell good from bad, other than "expensive" = "good". I'm a computer geek, and I know that doesn't work in the world of computers.

Any rough pointers?
  • steve_sordy
    steve_sordy Posts: 2,443
    I built my grandson a bike from scratch for Xmas 2016. It has grown and developed with every birthday and Xmas since. It is a Giant XTC frame (size XS), resprayed in Audi Laser Red by my local paint spray shop. It currently has the following kit hanging off it: