Cycle Republic online purchase- Buyers beware

meggiedude64
meggiedude64 Posts: 2
edited December 2019 in Road buying advice
Lo there.
I am not a bike newbie - have a few bikes, some bought via LBS and some online.
I am normally a roadie, but I wanted to try Gravel Biking and wanted a cheap'ish gravel bike that I could get through Cyclescheme.
Last month before the Black Friday deals I took the plunge with Cycle Republic and ordered a discounted Boardman ADV 8.8 online - as I do not have a local store.
Having said that I had tried one out in my local Halfords store.
I would have got it from Halfords, but the don't do Cyclescheme, they do their own Cycle-2-Work scheme., plus the Cycle Republic price was much less.
For those who don't know - Cycle republic are owned by the Halfords group.

The first bike turned up in a massive box, with minimal internal packaging - bizarrely with the gear side pedal fitted, which was sticking out the side of the box!!!, and the rest of the odd'n'sods which should have been in a another box inside - rattling about the main box. :(
The other pedal was missing (probably disappeared through the pedal hole), the front wheel was incorrectly fitted, so the disc brakes were way out when it was refitted. Cabling was also bad.
Apparently Cycle Republic ship all their bikes with the gear side pedal fitted - first time I've seen this.
I asked for this to be returned.

The next bike came.
This time it looked OK, however the stem was faulty, but this hadn't prevented their fitter trying to lock the from plate in place, but it had been waggling around in shipping - and the handlebar finish was down to the metal. Oh, and the brake cables weren't fitted at all well - in some cases not clipped in place.

For the third bike I requested (demanded), the bike be sent, unbuilt, to my local Halfords and they fit it for me.