Are these cracks around the spoke holes?

Had these Hunt 4Season Disc wheels for a couple of years, they've not done that many miles as they are just a winter set (one and a half winters). While cleaning them today I noticed some corrosion on the nipples of the rear wheel and what I thought look like cracks. I'm no expert but I just wondered if they were still OK to use? The front wheel is absolutely fine.

Hunt 4season wheelset

Large image https://i.postimg.cc/yNPvm5SR/Hunt-4-Season-spoke-holes.jpg

Comments

• webboo
    webboo Posts: 6,087
    They look like cracks to me, they need to go in the recycling.
  • Impossible to tell at this resolution. You could just have corrosion bubbles.
    www.thecycleclinic.co.uk
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    The second pic definitely looks like cracks propagating from the spoke hole, so I'd guess it's quite likely that the others are too.

If they are in warranty - send back to Hunt. If they're not - into the recycling bin.
  • Given the pics dont enlarge I'm not sure how you can say they are cracks.
    www.thecycleclinic.co.uk
  • skeetam
    skeetam Posts: 178

Given the pics dont enlarge I'm not sure how you can say they are cracks.

Is this not large enough? https://i.postimg.cc/yNPvm5SR/Hunt-4-Season-spoke-holes.jpg
  • timothyw
    timothyw Posts: 2,482
    skeetam said:

I'm no expert but I just wondered if they were still OK to use?

Basically, yes, but keep an eye on the development of the cracks.

Assuming you are the original owner you ought have a shout at warranty replacement of the wheel? They offer a full 3 years to the original owner.

Certainly I'd have thought it'd be safe to ride them to the end of winter then get them warrantied.

Failing that a local wheelbuilder should be able to replace the rim for not a huge amount of money.
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    edited December 2019

The pics do enlarge.
  • skeetam
    edited December 2019