Moutain Bike gearing

Hi all I need some advice, I am a former semi pro xc racer but through illness I had to stop racing but after 10 years I have stated to cycle again and now live in Germany where it's good for the mountain bike so I was going to use my MTB again but was going to change my gearing to the modern day. So my question is do I stick with a triple ring or go to 2 or 1 on the front, do most people use a double or just 1 now days. thanks for reading.

Comments

• robertpb
    robertpb Posts: 1,866
    As we don't know what bike you have it's difficult to say what it can be converted to, both my mainly used bikes are 1x.
    Now where's that "Get Out of Crash Free Card"
  • As an XC racer you may prefer to ride fast occasionally, from my experience a 1x will limit your top speed so you may find it better to have a 2x, then you can have the lower ratio for steep hills and the higher ratio for top speed. You might also not care so much for a dropper post which is what a lot of people use the left thumb for when they have a 1x, I don't think it's impossible to have both though.

I'd recommend buying a full matching set (front, back, shifters) and ask your local bike shop for advice as to what will fit in your frame / on your rear hub etc. I switched from an old 3x to a 2x and didn't regret it, the Shimano XT groupset is an excellent piece of kit!
  • steve_sordy
    steve_sordy Posts: 2,443
    edited December 2019
    My standard 2x10 gear set had a range of 5.18 to 1 (11-36 being driven by a 24/38).
    My standard 1x12 gear set had a range of 5.0 to 1 (10-50 on the rear).