Advice On Indoor Cycling For Complete Beginner (Sorry Long Post)

Hi, I am thinking about getting either an exercise bike or a road bike and turbo trainer combo but I'm not sure which one and I am completely new to cycling (although I know how to ride a bike but haven't done very much since being a kid).

I am nearly 40, male, 5ft 7 and weigh around 12 stone (or 77 kilos). I am overweight but not massively so and would just like to lose a bit of weight (maybe a stone or so) and generally keep fit (but I'm not a fitness fanatic). I do go out walking (not so much now during winter) and can walk up to 20 miles in one day (takes me roughly 6 hours) up steep hills and over moorland so I think I am relatively ok at doing exercise.

I like the idea of cycling but don't want to do it outside due to the terrible traffic and drivers near me, bad weather and I prefer just going for a walk.

So I thought about maybe getting an exercise bike but then I started reading about turbo trainers and the use of apps like Zwift and TrainerRoad etc. I would prefer to just use the app to go for a ride more than to do dedicated workouts or training sessions or anything competitive. I know some of the apps like Rouvy have an AR aspect to them using real routes and roads which sounds interesting to me.

I don't know if any of them have any kind of Google Earth or Street View integration where you can ride real-world routes that people have made and uploaded or you could create your own but that really appeals to me as then I could go for an actual ride without being outdoors. There is a product by VirZoom called a VFit which is a bluetooth device similar to what you would use with other smart trainers but it allows you to connect it to a virtual reality headset like an Oculus Go or Quest and then either play games while using your bike to propel you in the game or, more appealing to me, be able to go inside of Google Earth's Street View and ride in the (virtual) real world.