Shimano 105/ FD-R7000 Fr. Derailleur Tuning Conundrum!

johnkopp6
johnkopp6 Posts: 7
edited December 2019 in Workshop
*This is NOT a problem related to cross-chaining.

I'm a junior tech at a small LBS in the Midwest and none of my experienced peers have been able to help me resolve an issue on my bike.

After tuning and re-tuning my "new-style" Shimano R7000 front derailleur, I cannot get it to operate without rubbing in the reasonable extremes of BIG ring/ SMALL cog or SMALL ring/BIG cog. Adjusting the H/L adjustment bolts to move the derailleur inboard for the SMALL ring position or outboard for the BIG ring position makes the problem worse for the other chain ring. To say it another way, adjusting the H adjustment bolt outboard so that there's less rubbing in BIG ring/ SMALL cog actually prevents the derailleur from resting all the way inboard when in the SMALL ring/ BIG cog; no matter how I then try to adjust the L bolt, the derailleur won't move inboard because the H bolt is actually preventing it from moving. Again, I'm not talking about cross-chaining; I'm talking about using the chainrings in combination with the correct cogs. So at best, I get to the SMALL ring/ 2nd BIG cog and BIG ring/ 3rd SMALL cog before rubbing starts.

I've meticulously followed the Shimano DM-RAFD001-05 Dealer's Manual, including the specifics of the cable adjustment "barrel," H/L adjustment bolts, and specific trim positions for each step.

Do I have an unreasonable expectation that both extreme ends of the drivetrain (BIG ring/ SMALL cog or SMALL ring/BIG cog) won't be accessible without rubbing on the derailleur guide inner and outer plates? In my mind, I should be able to have a straight chain-line and no noise at the extremes of BIG ring/ SMALL cog or SMALL ring/BIG cog. Why have an 11-speed drivetrain if you can only access ~7-8 of the cogs without noise in either chainring???

Thanks for any help or ideas!

Comments

• chris_bass
    chris_bass Posts: 4,913