Orbea OIZ Sizing

Hey,

I am completely new to MTB and looking to get into cross country, with the goal to do some marathon racing.

Looking for a bike, something that can take 2 bottle cages.

I have narrowed it down to the Orbea OIZ or a Canyon Lux. Very much leaning towards the Orbea, just find the design more appealing. Although there is a massive wait to get the bike :(

Struggling to work out the sizing. I come from road racing where the smaller the frame and longer stems is the direction.
But I hear its the opposite in MTB?
I am 170cm tall and inside seam was 78 I think.

Both websites say I am a size small. But read conflicting reports that I should maybe size up?

Any advise would be great.

Thanks
Mark
Scott Addict 2011
Giant TCR 2012

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    If your inseam is 78 I'd certainly suggest a small, that's relatively long of leg for the height so you need a small frame to keep your reach (saddle to bars) sensible.

You fall roughly half way between a small and a medium IMO.

The Canyon sizing system has a good reputation so why not find the size of the Lux it recommends and compare the reach and stack (vertical height from BB to Bars) with the Orbea sizes?
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • markwb79
    markwb79 Posts: 937
    Love the reply. Thank you very much.

Canyon also says I am a S, Orbea is a S towards an M. The Canyon M and Orbea M match.

You say I am half way between a S and M. If this was the case for a road bike I would size down and get a longer stem. Is that the same for MTB, I heard it was the opposite?

I also just found out that the S Orbea doesn't accommodate 2 bottle cages, that's only from size M and upwards. Totally dreaming of the Orbea, but only if the M can fit, otherwise its a S Canyon

Thank you again.
    Mark
    Scott Addict 2011