New groupset on 2005 HT stumpjumper

I've got a 2005 hard tail stumpjumper that I use as my daily hack riding to work. It's done a lot of miles and needs a total overhaul. I've also got a 2018 Specialized Enduro, but find the gearing sadly lacking with only 42 tooth big cog at the back and some serious techy climbs round here. Would love to upgrade the groupset on my Enduro and use the 1x I take off on my old stumpjumper as gearing would be perfect for the commute. Is it even possible, or is a 2005 frame and wheelset so different as to be impossible?

Comments

• Not impossible but you need to know a few things like what both front cranks/bottoms brackets you have to see if they are compatible and the 1x can go on the Stumpy.

The rear gearing is a similar question. Your stumpy might be 3x9 if original kit? Is your 1x 1x10 or 1x11? If Shimano - the cassette should fit on your hub. I'm no expert on that so you should get a better opinion. If your Enduro is SRAM and you have Shimano on the Stumpy, the cassette won't fit. If both are Shimano - it should work.

Get a 2nd opinion on that though as I'm making a few assumptions.

I've got a 2006 HT Stumpy and it's been a great bike. Originally had Truvativ crank and GXP bottom bracket. That all got changed to XT and Hollowtech II bottom bracket and much preferred it. The rear was always Shimano anyway and got a new XT 3x9 setup 4 years ago. I've just transferred most of it to a CRC Brand XT HT frame as my Strumpy was a M and a bit too small for what I ride now. It climbed like a goat but 90mm forks, a small cockpit and older geometry just wasn't working. The new bike is heavier but now more an aggressive HT. It's running 140mm forks as well and just love it (Stumpy frame and forks reside in the shed as nostalgia items).

If you post the details of the gears, cranks and bottom brackets on both bikes, we might be able to help more.

"Ride, crash, replace"