MTB hardtail recommendations sub £750

Hi guys,
I'm new to all to MTB, I rode a bit when i was younger but really want to get back into it. I've done a lot of research on which bikes to look at. My budget is £750 and my main purpose is to do a lot of trails on a hardtail. I really like the look of the Whyte 605 2020, however I've seen no reviews on that or the 2019 edition. I also like the voodoo bizango, I know it gets a lot of love and is highly regarded but I prefer the Whyte aesthetically. I'm a fan of the Kona Mahuna too but would just like some advice off you folks on which bikes I could by ie new recommendations and thoughts on the bikes I have stated.
Thanks

Comments

• JBA
    JBA Posts: 2,852
    All the bikes you mention get good reviews but you really need to test ride a few bikes in your price range and find out which feels best to you.
    “Life has been unfaithful
    And it all promised so so much”

Giant Trance 2 27.5 2016 ¦ Sonder Broken Road 2021¦ Giant Revolt Advanced 2 2019 ¦ Giant Toughtroad SLR 1 2019 ¦ Giant Anthem 3 2015 ¦ Specialized Myka Comp FSR 2009
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    I own a Whyte and love the bikes, but really the Fork on the Bizango is so much better than on the 605, that alone would settle it for me. Stiffer, through axle and air.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • Bizango get good reviews in terms of VFM.

There should be some good sales on a the moment for 2019 bikes.

Paul's Cycles are usually pretty good.

https://www.paulscycles.co.uk/mountain-biking/bikes/mountain-bikes/hardtail-mtb/instock/onsale/adult

Vitus from CRC are pretty good as well.

You'll get a sensible bike for £750 but you must try a few to get something that works for you.
    "Ride, crash, replace"
  • Thanks for your advice folks, really appreciate it!