'Newb' - All my Mountains are Paved...

TBerk
TBerk Posts: 10
edited October 2019 in MTB beginners
I'm just getting into Online Bike Forums after many years of campaigning a Trek and now a very used and partly rebuilt Rocky Mountain.

My biking involves City Curb and Pothole Jumping, On and Off the Bus' front rack, Over the shoulder to carry it up Train Steps and Escalators, & step-walking the granny-gear up some of the San Francisco Bay Area's finest hills and inclines.

My front gearing is a three-set, but I haven't yet counted teeth, front or back.
Front Derailleur is non-existent; I slapped a poor fitting one on just to help with the chain jumping off.
(That symptom is going to be the main reason why I'm here, more on that later.)

The Rear End is a (I think) a Freehub with the 7 speed cassette transplanted over from the 'could not be trued any more' back rim.

I'm being counseled that I have worn gears and it's time to swap old mech for new.

I had grand thoughts of upgrading to an 11 speed set up, but the rear rim is new and sturdy like I like it so-
sticking in the 7 speed arena for now.

The stuff I've been picking up lately is:

Thick-Thin is a thing,

only having one (or maybe just Two) front chain-rings ain't a bad idea,

and I really need a very large 1st gear on the back, Granny-gear for the Win.
Maybe even the first two back there being on the large side.

I'm going to try and participate here pretty regularly but right now i need to break out the metal ruler and the calipers and document just what I've got and have been taking for granted.

Comments

• Welcome to the Forum TBerk.
    Let us know what gears (numbers of teeth) that you have on the front and rear and we'll be able to help you get the same or better gearing with fewer front rings.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    A narrow wide ring can only be used with 1x gearing, not two front rings.