Zwift - does it get better?

rdt
rdt Posts: 869
I've been using TrainerRoad for 18 months or so for structured training, am quite happy with it, and keep an annual subs for use throughout the year, which I use a lot.

A background plan has been to add in a bit of Zwift during the darker months, but I've been in no hurry...

I've not previously had a device capable of running Zwift, but I've seen plenty of videos of it and follow developments from a distance. I've been waiting for the next Apple TV box to launch, hoping this would set me up as a cheap but decent Zwift device that'd last for a few years. NB It's 2 years since the 4k box launched, and it looks like there might be a an upgraded one incoming ( https://www.macrumors.com/2019/09/04/ap ... ng-rumors/ ), which I'd be interested in buying.

But last week I got a new Android phone that can run Zwift so gave it a whirl using my Neo on the free 25km per month (not the 7 day trial yet, as I was about to travel...).

I was a bit underwhelmed, but I realise there were a few things less than ideal:
- Tiny phone screen vs. TV screen (which I'd be using if I bought an Apple TV);
- Limited route options because I was a newbie.

I found Zwift quite motivating in terms of caning it for 30-odd minutes, but not really very immersive. It reminded me of a slightly fancier version of riding a GPS route on the old Tacx Android app, which showed you on a Google Maps route. I actually felt "trapped" on the Volcano and NY course segments I was riding and thought it would quickly become a bit tedious if that "was it".

Does it get much better with
(a) a big screen?
(b) more routes to choose from (NB it's majorly off-putting that the gamification means you cannot access everything from the get-go)?
(c) other stuff such as races (NB virtual group rides don't currently have any appeal to me)?

TIA.

Comments

• StillGoing
    StillGoing Posts: 5,211