modern bike maintenance

kingrollo
kingrollo Posts: 3,198
edited September 2019 in Road general
Have a bit of a dispute with the retailer and supplier of my carbon bike.

It regularly creaks (loudly) supplier reckons this is down to routine maintenance. Ive been cycling for 30 years and whilst not not the greatest mechinic - I do most stuff myself - replace chain \ cassette regular lubing of chain - keeping the bike generally clean.

Each time the bike goes back I am told it is something simple, saddle, loose through axles, grease contact points - the creaking then goes for a few weeks - but then returns - I try what shop has told me without effect. It has a press fit BB which has been replaced and tightened

My own belief is there is something fundamentally wrong with the frame - supplier says I need to educate myself with modern bike maintenance - find the cause of the creak, grease it - do this as often as needed.

So is modern bike maintenance the cure here - or is my hunch about the frame correct - in your opinion of course !!!

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    You haven't said what bike/frame - but if you feel your frame is defective and the shop says it isn't, then it's probably up to you to be more specific about which part or area of the frame is defective and why..
  • kingrollo
    Imposter wrote:
    You haven't said what bike/frame - but if you feel your frame is defective and the shop says it isn't, then it's probably up to you to be more specific about which part or area of the frame is defective and why..

I don't want to yet name the brand as this may end up in the small claims court.

My suspicion is the BB fitting area is slightly of and this works lose - giving me the creak (shop deny this) - also as my best bike it only gets used at weekends - due to il health this is probably around 50 miles per week tops - if everything is working lose to this mileage is this correct ? - or is something fundamentally wrong.