HELP! My crank has died and I have no knowledge to help

Mason_wardd
Mason_wardd Posts: 4
edited September 2019 in The hub
I recently bought a scott aspect 970 29 inch for £40, I thought it was a bargain but it needed some work. The crank is wobbly as hell and need something fixing. I have been told its the front bearing, the bottom bracket, the lockring, everything. So today I thought i am going to fix this, went to try and take the crank arms off, but needed the removal tool, went and got one and not i need a 20 pin tool to take the bottom bracket out. Basically it wobbles like mad and screeches if you pedal wrong, there looks like there is a ring missing on the right side of the crank as there is a gap between the crank arm and frame with some threading. I have a shimano 175 fc-yr501 crankset if this is any help, please just let me know what could be wrong and if its even worth fixing, thx.

Comments

• keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    I cannot tell what the issues are based on your description. Photographs would help.

(postimage.org no need for an account, just upload image and use the url it gives you to embed in a post)

But to be honest if you don't know what you're doing it might be simpler, and possibly cheaper, to take it to a bike shop?
  • monkimark
    monkimark Posts: 1,460
    So i'm gathering that you have a square taper bracket and you've got the cranks removed like the first half of this video?
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8B6LdZPa4M8

Is the spindle of the bottom bracket wobbling/not turning? That would mean new bottom bracket time and you'll need a special tool to remove it or just take it to a bike shop and get them to do it - very quick job with the right tools.

Not sure i understand the bit about the missing ring, a photo would probably explain it very easily.