Scared on descents

jd843
jd843 Posts: 59
edited September 2019 in Road beginners
Hi

I’ve been cycling for a few years now, but something I still really struggle with is descending, particularly long descents with lots of bends and hairpins (e.g. descents in Mallorca).

I feel like I’ve read all the articles on this, watched all the videos, tried all the tips, but on sharp bends and hairpins I still end up bottling it, slowing down too much and “turning” around the corner rather than “leaning” as they say you should. Does anyone have any advice? Thanks in advance!

Comments

• webboo
    webboo Posts: 6,087
    Do you know someone who is safe but reasonably fast descender, if so ask then to lead you down a few descents even getting them to shout out when they are braking.
  • boblo
    boblo Posts: 360
    edited September 2019
    Why do you want to go faster? Is it because you think you should and are putting yourself under pressure to? If so, I'd forget it. There are always people faster than you up or down. In the popular areas, a lot of the faster descenders are not really in control and should the worst happen, they could come a real cropper.

If you want to go faster because you're an adrenaline junkie but just have poor technique, all I'd say is work up to it. The more you do, the better you get. Concentrate on applying the research but maybe in sections. Do a bit of the descent applying your findings and do a bit without to give your brain a break. Keep riding descents but work the speed up, don't go banzai from beginning as your ambition could exceed your skill with obvious consequences (© Casey Stoner).

Again, there is no right or wrong here. If you're happy descending at your speed or the way you do, stuff the rest. It's you that'll get hurt so keep that in mind.
  • amrushton
    amrushton Posts: 1,249