Best way to transport 4 y/o 3 miles home by bike

graeme_s-2
graeme_s-2 Posts: 3,382
edited September 2019 in Family & kids cycling forum
My son starts school this week, and from next week I'll be collecting him from school 2 days a week. We only have the one car, and I cycle to work and back every day. I've used a bike seat with him before, but I think the buckle on our current one is knackered, and he's getting towards outgrowing it anyway. I could replace the bike seat, but I'm concerned about how I'd transport my work bag and his school bag - my bag would be in his face. I've never used panniers before, but I'm thinking they might be a better solution, but are probably incompatible with a rack mounted bike seat.

He has an islabike which he can ride as a balance bike with the pedals off. He's just about able to ride it with pedals on, but he's a bit reluctant to practice further still so hasn't fully nailed it yet. I have an old rim braked 8-speed hybrid with flat pedals on that I have the bike seat on, and my usual commuter is a Planet X London Road (clipless, disc brakes, no rack, but it has the mounts).

My current thinking is to get a FollowMe tandem and either get my wife to drop off his bike with him in the morning and lock it up for me to collect for the homeward journey, or alternatively I'll ride my bike to work with his IslaBike attached to the tandem. Then I'll move the rack from my hybrid onto the London Road and use panniers rather than my messenger bag on those days.

Sound reasonable? Any other suggestions?

Comments

• veronese68
    veronese68 Posts: 27,317
    Graeme_S wrote:
    My current thinking is to get a FollowMe tandem and either get my wife to drop off his bike with him in the morning and lock it up for me to collect for the homeward journey
    Makes sense to me, I was thinking that before I got to this part of your post.
  • slowbike
    slowbike Posts: 8,498