Planning on buying a brand new Giant Trance X Advanced SL 0 2012 or Anthem 2 2017

krcp
krcp Posts: 10
edited September 2019 in MTB buying advice
Hi there,

I came across a brand new Giant Trance X Advanced SL O 2012 that's still in stock at a local Giant dealer. Only one bike is available at almost less than a third of the original asking price ($9750 vs. $2800 now - import duty is high here, hence the price difference).

So is it worth getting? I'm new to full suspension bikes and my question is does the age of the bike, 2012, affect the bike's tires, brakes and suspension?

Thanks,

KRCP

Comments

• steve_sordy
    steve_sordy Posts: 2,443
    My first question would be does it come with a service? That will address most but not all of the issues raised below.
    The second question would be a what warranty do you get with the bike? Anything that would go wrong as a consequence of the long storage should manifest itself pretty quickly

But if no warranty and no service...

I wouldn't worry about the tyres they are cheap enough, even if they have gone wrong. The inner tubes also may have perished, cheap to replace, probably best to do so anyway.

I suppose that the suspension may have suffered from not being used for 7 years. I'm thinking of the fork wiper seals drying out. If the shock is the upside down version, ditto. I'd put plenty of wet Lube (not dry lube), or even better Fork Juice around the stanchions and cycle the forks several times and then allow to "soak". I'd do that a few times a day for a while, just to be sure. Ditto for the dropper seatpost if it has one. You could easily find out the cost of a full service on your suspension. Or get your LBS to do a lower leg service on the fork and an air can service on the shock. But I am straying towards the edges of my knowledge here. Other members have far more experience.

I'm guessing that the frame is carbon fibre. I have no idea what the passage of time does to a CF frame.