Boardman Team Comp - winter project

bsharp77
bsharp77 Posts: 533
edited October 2019 in Your road bikes
Hi everyone,

My old Boardman Team Comp has been sitting gathering dust for a few years, so i've decided to give it a bit of love and use it as my second bike.
As a project for a bit of fun, i've decided to strip it down and try and paint it with a chameleon finish (blue/green/purple).

This thread will document my progress as I muddle my way through to what will hopefully be a successful outcome!!
I should point out I have no experience of this sort of tinkering, so it will be a voyage of discovery.....

Heres the bike as it was originally:

IMG-2811.jpg

Comments

• bsharp77
    First up was a coat of paint stripper to get the bulk of the paint off.
    It bubbled up quite well and I used a scraper to get it off.

IMG-2816.jpg

IMG-2817.jpg
  • bsharp77
    Now moved on to a combination of a sanding flap disc on a drill, plus some wet and dry to try and get all the paint removed and a nice smooth finish.
    I only have around 20 mins a day to spend on it, I'm not in a rush so hopefully will have the whole frame ready for undercoating by the middle of next week.

The fork is carbon, so will take longer to carefully sand it down so as not to damage it.
    Currently wondering whether to do a different colour (or maybe just less coats of chameleon) on the fork to make it stand out a bit more?!

I have seen I can get the original style boardman graphics on eBay, so will get them sourced next week - probably in black so that they are nice and understated. Will apply after the chameleon paint and before lacquering for a nice finish.

Main problem I have now is the BB appears to be seized solid - currently dousing with releasing oil and leaving overnight in the hope that it will help.

IMG-2969.jpg
  • shirley_basso
    shirley_basso Posts: 6,195
    The shape of those tubes. So so lovely. Even the metal ones look like they're made of carbon once painted.