New second hand bike. Front brake squeals badly ?!

jack.murton
jack.murton Posts: 8
edited July 2019 in MTB beginners
Hello

I am new to mountain biking

I have a question about my front brake which doesn’t stop squealing.

I have tried all the basic stuff like disc cleaner, sanding the pads etc. Not really doing a lot tbh.

Can anyone advise what It could be.

I have Shimano xt brakes and rt81 discs

Thanks

Jack.

Comments

• JBA
    JBA Posts: 2,852
    Have you tried realigning the caliper?
    “Life has been unfaithful
    And it all promised so so much”

Giant Trance 2 27.5 2016 ¦ Sonder Broken Road 2021¦ Giant Revolt Advanced 2 2019 ¦ Giant Toughtroad SLR 1 2019 ¦ Giant Anthem 3 2015 ¦ Specialized Myka Comp FSR 2009
  • steve_sordy
    steve_sordy Posts: 2,443
    If it has oil on the pads, they are pretty much doomed. When you cleaned the pads, did you also clean the disc?

The quickest way to fix this is to fit new pads, but assume that oil was the problem and clean the disc as well. Then bed them in properly.

You may have been ultra careful and are convinced that you never got oil anywhere near the pads, but it can come off the road if you ride tarmac at all.
  • tom_howard
    tom_howard Posts: 789
    If it were me I'd just replace the pads and disc. Remove the chance of one re-contaminating the other, thus going round in circles, and both can be had reasonably cheaply
    Santa Cruz 5010C
    Deviate Guide
    Specialized Sequoia Elite
    Pivot Mach 429SL
    Trek Madone 5.2 Di2
    Salsa Mukluk Carbon
    Specialized Turbo Levo Expert 29er
  • swod1
    swod1 Posts: 1,639
    Pads are past saving by the sound of it.

isopropyl alcohol on the disc and a new set of pads usually does the trick.

Never experienced it on a front brake, usually rear brake I’ve had it on.

Check calliper alignment, pads not central to disc will cause noise as well
  • kajjal
    kajjal Posts: 3,380