Starting out bike suggestions please

DS101
DS101 Posts: 14
edited June 2019 in MTB buying advice
Evening all,

I am looking to start getting into mountain biking to go with the lads who predominantly ride Aston hill
Or Woburn sands. I have been looking at 27.5 inch enduro type full suspension bikes. I don’t mind buying a used bike for the first and after reading on here people seem to suggest not spending over £500 I was originally looking up to £1k. What would you recommend?

Bit about me. I have been doing motocross for circa 15 years so am used to jumps and drop off etc albeit on a motorbike. I used to ride bike a lot when I was younger and have done some biking in Moab when I was on holiday and managed the full enchilada so am not completely green.

A few options I have seen are:

Specialized enduro 2016
Yt wicked 2014
Giant trance 1 2014
Commenial meta 2015
Nukeproof mega 2014

You guys may say these are too much of a bike I am open to any suggestions

Thanks

Stu

Comments

• lemonenema
    lemonenema Posts: 216
    i cant be bothered looking in to those bikes as im back from a 5h hard ride. my suggestion is for under £1000 dont buy a full sus unless its a decent 2nd hand one that you know the history of.
    Every year there are guides as to the best bikes by budget - here are MBRs ones
    https://www.mbr.co.uk/reviews/hardtail/ ... ntain-bike
  • joebristol
    joebristol Posts: 327
    I think the YT Wicked is a full on DH bike so I’d avoid that one.

The other bikes are a bit older so might be missing 27.5” wheels (make sure they don’t have 26” wheels as they are well in their way out as a standard goes with decent tyres now getting more limited and more expensive to buy) and more modern geometry.

If they are 27.5 and are in good condition I’d probably miss out the trance for what you want to use it for and look at the Mega and the Commencal.
  • bonzo_banana
    bonzo_banana Posts: 256