Advice for 7 day Central Alps Tour

Jacksyee
Jacksyee Posts: 48
edited May 2019 in Road general
Hi all,

In mid June I’ll be riding over 7 days from Geneva to Nice. Will be doing it with an 8 person tour with guides etc since it is my first time.

I am a relatively new cyclist (2 years or so) but train a lot as a triathlete for Ironman.

I have been pounding out climbs for the last 6 weeks or so but this is still a bit intimidating.

I have a Cannondale Supersix Evo Disc, I have changed my gears to compact/32. The bike is really nice.

Tour is Tour is Geneva, Annecy, Glandon, Alp Du Huez, Lautaret, Galibier, D'Izoard, De Vars, De La Bonnette, Nice.

Max distance per day 104, max vertical 3300m (day 2 Glandon, Alp Du Huez)

Honestly just asking for any advice or hacks, things to bring, things to think about. I was coming with a mate, who just got injured so won’t know anyone on the tour.

Comments

• Jacksyee
    Ugh double post. SOrry
  • pblakeney
    pblakeney Posts: 25,597
    Pack a full clothing kit, full on winter to full on summer.
    You could encounter any extreme in the mountains, even in July or August, more so in May....

You have quite easy gearing so the climbs won't be as bad as you think, as long as you pace yourself.
    The above may be fact, or fiction, I may be serious, I may be jesting.
    I am not sure. You have no chance.
    Veronese68 wrote:
    PB is the most sensible person on here.
  • Jacksyee
    Thanks I have all my clothes except overshoes? I think I may just buy them there if need be

Do you modify what you eat during the week or eat as normal
  • thegreatdivide
    thegreatdivide Posts: 5,802
    104 miles or km a day?

Geneva to Annecy via where?
  • pblakeney
    Jacksyee wrote:
    Thanks I have all my clothes except overshoes? I think I may just buy them there if need be