Handbuilt wheels... the big thread

Comments

• cycleclinic
    cycleclinic Posts: 6,865
    Thicker spokes are stiffer wayne17. The only reason to use CX-ray is if building very light wheels. I do that with the OP rim but with Carbon ti hubs only. Any thing else is heavier and you might as well then say screw the weight and go all sensible with force or race rear and laser front.
    http://www.thecycleclinic.co.uk -wheel building and other stuff.
  • Thicker spokes are stiffer wayne17. The only reason to use CX-ray is if building very light wheels. I do that with the OP rim but with Carbon ti hubs only. Any thing else is heavier and you might as well then say screw the weight and go all sensible with force or race rear and laser front.
    Makes sense will probably go with laser/ race combination. But quite fancy doing the build with cx-rays as I have never used them before, if I did build with the cx-Ray do you think the rear wheel would no be stiff enough.
  • cycleclinic
    That depends on how you ride. It won't be as stiff and that means a faster fatigue rate. On a non aero wheel the CX rays is quick and easy to build with and if using using straight pull hubs it means the wheel is trueable.
  • That depends on how you ride. It won't be as stiff and that means a faster fatigue rate. On a non aero wheel the CX rays is quick and easy to build with and if using using straight pull hubs it means the wheel is trueable.
    Cheers thanks for you advice
  • timothyw
    timothyw Posts: 2,482
    Anyone aware of a source for 42mm deep 24mm wide alloy rims?

Pro Lite have updated a couple of their wheelsets with a new wider rim designs, notably the Bracciano A42W - http://www.pro-lite.net/road-wheels/bracciano-a42w

The old bracciano A42 had a rim profile that appeared pretty much identical to the H Plus son SL42, but that rim never quite appealed with the 19.5mm width you'd need very skinny tyres to make the most of it.