Bike fit - pain in hands

skyric
skyric Posts: 9
edited May 2019 in Road beginners
Hello,

I'm a very novice rider who over the last two months has been ramping up my activity in terms of both duration and intensity and I'm finding that pretty much my entire hands, especially the joints are starting to hurt more and more. It's almost certainly because I'm putting too much weight on my hands but I'm not really sure what I can do to remedy that.

I've tried multiple things, mostly around padding (bought some gloves) and I've made attempts to sit upright more where I find I'm not falling onto the bars so much. I've also purchased an adjustable stem and I've even tilted the bike seat back so it throws me more onto the back part of the seat. At this point the bars are very high and the seat is tilted noticeably far back...it all looks pretty ridiculous and is a reminder that I'm doing something wrong. However, if I try to measure my inseam, drop a plumb bob and otherwise get things in a more recommended setup...I'm right back on the handlebars with my hands hurting after a ride.

Does anyone have any possible tips? I know I can get a fit at a local shop but they charge a considerable amount if I'm not purchasing a rather expensive new bike.

Thanks very much!

Comments

• rafletcher
    rafletcher Posts: 1,235
    Core strength exercises, you need to be able to support your weight using your back muscles, not lean on your hands.
  • sungod
    sungod Posts: 16,432
    forget measuring and plumb bobs, that sort of method is no use

tilting the saddle is typically a bad idea, keep it flat

start from the beginning and get the saddle height and position right, steve hogg's method is pretty straightforward...
    https://www.stevehoggbikefitting.com/bi ... can-it-be/
    https://www.stevehoggbikefitting.com/bi ... oad-bikes/