Stem Length Help

crazymilk
crazymilk Posts: 18
edited May 2019 in MTB general
I have been using my Cube TM Reaction Pro now for about 5 months. Being my first half decent MTB I was initially just blown away with it – I still love it however now I'm more into riding and picking up more experience along the way I am beginning to think that it needs a tweak to get it more comfortable and set up correctly for me (Body shape/size ect).

Its hard to explain but on long rides and without noticing I frequently find myself resting the base of my palms on the grips (so on the palm area nearest my wrist/ ball of my thumbs) rather than my hands on the handle bar grips “gripping” the grips with my fingers curled round. .
Of course when I am negotiating tough terrain I grip the bars but on normal/smoother riding terrain (and more when I am tired) I default to palms resting on the grips as I have tried to explain above

Now my (normally screwed up) logic would tell me that I need a longer stem as the cockpit is currently too short/tight for my body make up, would this seem a reasonable conclusion? Currently have a Raceface 35 Stem which I think is 50mm long.

I am 5ft 10” however I have short legs (29” inside leg ect) and a long torso.

Any help/guidance and/or advice would be very much appreciated

Comments

• robertpb
    robertpb Posts: 1,866
    What frame size are you riding?
    A 50mm stem on todays bikes is long anyway. Riding on your palms is more of a habit than anything else. If you think you need more room move the saddle back and try that before you start spending money. Plus have you set up the hight of your saddle correctly, as it goes up the distance to the bars increases.
    Now where's that "Get Out of Crash Free Card"
  • billycool
    billycool Posts: 833
    I rest my palms on the bars and sit a bit more `upright` when transitioning on the road etc.