Sealant maintenance

roadbike82
roadbike82 Posts: 3
edited May 2019 in Workshop
Hi

I switched to tubeless tires and rims last fall. Specifically Mavic Yksion Pro UST on Mavic Ksyrium Elite UST rims with Mavic sealant. The bike was mostly indoors from October through March as it was mounted on my Kickr Snap and used for Zwift.

As I started riding outdoors I felt I should check up on the sealant. I was worried because the bike had been indoors for months with 20-25degrees celcius and the front wheel had not ben spun for a long time since it's on the trainer. I thought the sealant might have dried.

Also I had noticed I had a slow leak from both tires, usually overnight the pressure was reduced by 50%.

Today I decided to unmount the tire from the rim and my suspicion was right. The tire was completely dry inside with the front wheel being "worst" with large lumps of dried sealant. Spent a good two hours unmounting the tires, cleaning them and the rims, putting them on again and filled up with new sealant (Muc Off this time, about 30ml). Also had a challenge using a pump to "pop" the tire on so I cheated with a co2 inflator.

As this was a whole lot of work I would love to hear suggestions and best practises of how to best make my sealant last as long as possible and how to best store the bike.

Do people top up with new sealant every now and then? How long should I expect this sealant to last? How fast does it dry? I don't want to risk having a flat because the sealant has dried up.

Thanks for any input.

Comments

• lincolndave
    lincolndave Posts: 9,441
    I normally top up every 8 to 10 weeks just to be on the safe side, I inject the sealant through the valve ( removing the valve core ) this saves removing - unseating the tyre
  • cycleclinic
    cycleclinic Posts: 6,865
    I have never checked sealant levels. When I puncture and no sealant comes out I plug the tyre inflate and when I am home inject more. Simples. Don't make this more complicated than it is.