Wheel comparison

TxAg15
TxAg15 Posts: 4
edited May 2019 in Road buying advice
Not so much a "buying" issue as a question of which wheelset I already I have is better.
I had the Shimano WH-RS500 wheelset on my old bike and then recently bought a Fuji SL with Oval Concepts 327 wheels on it. I would generally think my Shimano wheels would be better than a stock wheelset, and they are a tad lighter, but the Ovals have a deeper rim and seem to be decent wheels in their own right. Any thoughts on how I should evaluate which one to go with as my primary set?

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Am I right in thinking you already have both sets of wheels? If so, the answer should be pretty straightforward...
  • TxAg15
    Yeah I do have both already. ...it's the Shimanos right? I thought from the outset they'd be better but then doubted myself. I'm a newbie to having anything other than stock wheels, so I wanted to get a second opinion.
  • imposter2.0
    TxAg15 wrote:
    Yeah I do have both already. ...it's the Shimanos right?

Well, no - not quite. The answer is 'ride both and compare'..
  • Imposter wrote:
    TxAg15 wrote:

I think the answer is give the bloke a bit of slack.
  • imposter2.0
    Imposter wrote:
    TxAg15 wrote:

You don't think that comparing two sets of wheels he already has is the way forward?
  • Imposter wrote:
    Imposter wrote:
    TxAg15 wrote:

You don't think that comparing two sets of wheels he already has is the way forward?

What I don't think is the way forward is the "superior attitude" you adopt each time somebody asks a question which is obviously meat and drink to you but may not be to them.
  • imposter2.0
    What I don't think is the way forward is the "superior attitude" you adopt each time somebody asks a question which is obviously meat and drink to you but may not be to them.