Sportive event question

golfer+1
golfer+1 Posts: 11
edited April 2019 in Amateur race
I am new to cycling (golf injury) and would like to spend some weekends away with the Mrs doing some sportives around the UK. If I turn up at an event do you have to ride alone or is it common practice to ride in groups.

Comments

• Just been through the same process myself.
    Ride how you want. With someone or on your own....it doesn't matter. Ride with someone for a short while or a long time. Your choice. Stop at the feed station? You don't have to and you can miss it out if you wish.

Officially it's not a race but a lot of guys will be looking for a good time. If that's you then fine. If you want to pootle round that's your prerogative.

In short you ride it how you want to. All you have to do is follow the route and any instructions the organisers give you. It's a ride in the country for you to approach as you wish.
  • GrannygearGaz
    GrannygearGaz Posts: 10
    edited April 2019
    In most sportives I've done I have inevitably ended up doing most/all/some of the route with people riding at a similar pace. You get the odd walloper with headphones in just cycling round but most are really friendly and happy to chat.

As already said, some are out to push themselves and get the best time they can but a lot of folk are out to enjoy the closed roads and happy for a chat!
  • a lot of folk are out to enjoy he closed roads
    You won't get many of those. Most are on open roads, but in quiet areas.
  • david7m
    david7m Posts: 636
    I've done 2 and was alone the whole route except the first half mile.
  • Bumo_b
    Bumo_b Posts: 211