I need help with buying a new bottom bracket (BB30)

vault94
vault94 Posts: 23
edited April 2019 in Workshop
I was biking last week and halfway through my ride my bottom bracket area starting making a noise, I carried on and did another 10 miles and it gradually got worse, every couple of turns was a really loud squealing sound.

I know sometimes it can be other problems like loose bolts, pedals etc. But either way I took of the crank (which was seized up, I needed to get my compressor out and oil to get it out)

Inside the bearings were all rusted, not what I expected from something with less than 3,000 miles of use.

I'm just going to replace the bottom bracket bearings, I have never done this before so I'm pretty clueless about what i should be buying.

I have a ParkTool press already and I have ordered a bb30 removal tool. I just don't know what bottom bracket to order

Here are a few photos of my bottom bracket.
https://imgur.com/a/7wj744U

It's a FSA Gossamer Crank set, the bike is a 2015 Boardman team carbon

The black bottom bracket ring says
BB30 B3155

The white bearings say
BB30
6806-2RS
MR149

The Crank says
0116S

The removable washers say
MS233

I was looking at this

https://www.wiggle.co.uk/fsa-pf30-road- ... b+Networks

or something like this

https://www.amazon.co.uk/FSA-BB30-Road- ... 48&sr=8-16

Thanks

Comments

• sungod
    sungod Posts: 16,547
    image shows pf30 (bb30 bearing in a larger plastic shell that is then pressed in, pf == press fit)

simplest is get the complete pf30 one you link to on wiggle

that corrosion on the axle isn't good, try to clean it without further damage to the areas where it contacts the bearings, when fitting smear axle and bearing inners with waterproof grease

bearing seals aren't perfect, water will get behind the shields and then seep in, some frames may allow water to enter the bb shell and pool, then it also gets in from the inner side of the bearings