First time event - help needed!

sopworth
sopworth Posts: 191
edited April 2019 in MTB general
Hi,

Since buying my MTB last summer, i've entered a couple of endurance events this next few months and was hoping for a bit of help….

My bike is a Kona Blast 27.5" wheels. It's a few years old but in pretty good condition (purchased second hand). I'm a pretty decent mechanic, having built many road bikes over the years, but have stayed clear of the hydraulic forks and discs as they are beyond my experience level and all seems to be working well….I suspect.

Anyway, all the kit is still standard, including the tyres that need replacing. I'm going to be using the bike for 10 under Ben and a 7 hour event in Glentress over the next month or so.

Firstly, what tyres do you think I should be targeting to replace the current ones? Same width on each wheel?

Second, any general advice about tackling these events - such as locking out forks for certain sections and so on?

I appreciate these are pretty open questions, but any advice would be welcome.

My MTB experiences are pretty limited to date with the odd 10 - 15 miles trail run slotted in with the odd commute to work on the bike to get used to it.

I don't think riding for so long will be an issue fitness wise, but i'm sure i'll feel more beat up than more experience riders come the end.

Cheers.

Comments

• cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    You're doing a ten and seven hour event off the back of some commuting ? I think tyre choice is the least of your worries.

Do you have endurance from other sports ? And as to the tyres maybe you need some choices if it's wet or dry weather ? Take two sets so you have options.
  • billycool
    billycool Posts: 833
    Is this a wind up?

You have a 2nd hand mountain bike and have minimal MTB experience? I don't know about your general fitness levels but a 7 or 10 hour event is VERY different to the odd 10-15 mile ride. The stress and strains on your bike will be pretty high as well.