Thank you, tailwind. Thank you, term break traffic.

Cheeseface22
Cheeseface22 Posts: 133
edited April 2019 in Commuting general
According to MET, I had tailwind of 8-20mph the whole way to work commute this morning.
I definitely felt the help from the tailwind.

So much so I got 1 PR and 3 Bronze on Strava on my usual commute route that I've been recording for over two years.
That's three medals in one ride for a very long time, let alone a PR on uphill!

What was even more pleasant was the significantly low traffic thanks to the Easter break.
Hardly any cars on the road!

So, thank you tailwind and term break traffic for such a pleasant morning ride to work.

Thank you, next.
I'm so f*****' grateful la la la...

Comments

• But you'll get headwind on way home and any cyclist knows it better to have tailwind on way back.
  • Not necessarily. Wind direction can change over time.

But you'd know that if you're surfer. Don't you?
  • Not necessarily. Wind direction can change over time.

Sure do but if you're in the UK it's going to be easterly all day which is good for me as offshore but for you will mean a headwind.
  • greenamex2
    greenamex2 Posts: 272
    Two minutes quicker into work than normal.
    Two minutes slower back home.

Just a different class of oblivious twerp meandering around the cycle paths than the normal school kids.
  • Two minutes isn't too bad, I take it not a long commute.
  • awavey
    awavey Posts: 2,368
    Not necessarily. Wind direction can change over time.

Sure do but if you're in the UK it's going to be easterly all day which is good for me as offshore but for you will mean a headwind.

but it swaps in the evening, I get hit by easterly wind in the morning, and its nearly always westerly by the time I go home
  • Result then, the perfect ride. Tailwind each way, normally I get headwind both ways!
  • greenamex2
    greenamex2 Posts: 272
    Two minutes isn't too bad, I take it not a long commute.