Getting the right bike size

Blade180
Blade180 Posts: 70
edited July 2019 in Road beginners
Hi all

I am fairly new to road cycling.

I will be buying a new bike in the near the future and I don't want to make the same mistake as I did with my previous purchase.

I believe it was too small for me. When I got the bike my seat saddle was not adjusted properly meaning I had knee pain, so I fixed this issue. But then I felt I was too high up, which lead to neck pain when I have to look up ahead etc. So basically I fixed one problem ( knee pain ) then the other occurred.

I always felt that the handlebars were too low after raising the seat meaning I was stretching at maximum to reach the handlebars.

I am about 6ft3 - 6ft4 had a 58cm frame, endurance geometry. I bought it online because my local bike shop bikes are way too expensive.

I will be buying online again and I want to avoid the same issue. I know people may say buy from a local bike shop but as I said buying online is 20-30% cheaper for me.

So now I am thinking I will buy 60/62cm frame size I am not sure if that will actually fix the issue.

Any sensible answers would be much appreciated.

Comments

• lemonenema
    lemonenema Posts: 216
    depending on where you order your bike from, they usually have a size chart to help, or you can go to the manufacturers website to get the info.
    Additionally once youve bought the right-ish size bike, its well worth going to a bike shop to get a bike fit done. I recently got one which was only £40 and they made a few tweeks that were very useful.
    Might be as simple as adjusting saddle and seatpost position or they may advise getting a shorter/longer stem which can be had online for £10-20
  • Find somewhere that does Guru bike fit, they will be able to tell you which bikes are most likely to be suited to you. Buy the bike after the bike fit, not before.
    Got a place in the Pyrenees.
    Do bike and ski stuff.
  • Blade180
    Blade180 Posts: 70