How to start road cycling for a complete beginner.

morrissey321
morrissey321 Posts: 2
edited May 2019 in Road beginners
Hi everyone.
I am a complete novice when it comes to cycling. I am 29 years old and I haven’t ridden a bike in years.
I have always been very overweight, but I have lost over 4 stone in the past months and feel confident enough to try road cycling. It’s always fascinated me but I was too self conscious to try.
I am currently 14 stone and would like to continue to lose weight and get into road cycling.
I reached out to an acquaintance of mine who is big into road cycling. He has got back to me and could not of been more helpful! He asked for my height and weight and he has acquired me a bike to ‘loan.’ He wants me to go with him to try it out.
I couldn’t have wished for a more helpful response.
I am nervous however. I’ve never ridden a road bike and it’s been 10 years since a I rode ANY bike.
What would your advice be? Surely everyone has to start somewhere.
What tips or advice could you give a absolute beginner?
Thanks very much!

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    My advice would be to go out on your own a few times first, rather than with someone else - especially someone who is already 'experienced'. You don't want someone dictating your pace for you, although his advice on the ride may or may not be useful. If you haven't ridden for 10 years (and assuming you don't do any other 'regular' exercise) then 20-30min rides on flattish terrain on your own - and at your own pace - would be my suggestion as a first step.
  • bigmitch41
    bigmitch41 Posts: 685
    Well done on the weight loss!

My advice would be to start small and work your rides up gradually, nice and easy 30 minute rides and build up from there. You could use an app like Strava to record your rides, this will show your improvements over time. always have a drink and some sort of food (flapjack etc) to fuel yourself along the ride.