How are boardman road bikes?

Blade180
Blade180 Posts: 70
edited March 2019 in Road buying advice
I came across a discounted Boardman road bike for the price it looks much better than anything else I have found.

This would be a long term purchase with lots of riding especially with summer coming up :).

I need your guy's opinions on it and if it is worth the money.

I am looking for a good and helpful answers/opinions. As I am fairly new to cycling.

I feel like I want it but I don't want to regret later :D:D

Here is the link: https://www.cyclerepublic.com/boardman- ... -2017.html

Comments

• pilot_pete
    pilot_pete Posts: 2,120
    How tall are you? I only ask because they only have one frame size at that price...

PP
  • Blade180
    I am around 6ft2-6ft3
    190cm
  • pilot_pete
    edited March 2019
    Should fit then!

It’s an entry level carbon framed bike with cheaper end components (which you would expect that that price point). Don’t believe the blurb in the add you linked to - things such as ‘specification and design traits only seen in higher level bikes’, it’s marketing bull... The spec is lower end - Tiagra is fine as a groupset, the Tektro brakes will be nothing special - there are threads on here regarding their performance (or lack of) and how people want to upgrade them.

The FSA crank is ok, nothing special, but the frame is a pressfit bottom bracket which inherently can start to creak, so do your research before committing and see if others have suffered issues with creaky PF30 bottom brackets on these frames.

The wheels are ok, again entry level, so I would guess they are fairly heavy, but at least they have a spoke count which should give them some strength for a larger rider (I know your height but not your weight).