What does MTB actually mean?

steve_sordy
steve_sordy Posts: 2,443
edited March 2019 in MTB general
My wife asked me a question this morning: "why does MTB stand for Mountain Bike, what does the "T" stand for?" Oh she got me there! I doubt it stands for the "tain" in mountain! :oops:

I've been riding an MTB for over ten years and have read loads of different mtb mags and been on several forums, but this has never come up, or I just never noticed if it did. I guess everyone either just knows or assumes that everyone else knows and don't like to ask. Or in my case, just accepted that MTB stood for mountain bike and never questioned why!

I know the French acronymn for MTB is ATV, which when I was in France I was told by a Brit stood for All Terraine Velocette. Sort of makes sense until you realise that "All" is not the French word for all! It really ought to be TTV!

But it got me thinking; what could MTB stand for? My best guess is Multi Terrain Bike.

Any other offers? Anyone else owning up to not having a clue? :oops:

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Not a clue. Maybe it just sounds better than MB?
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Lagrange
    Lagrange Posts: 652
    Mountain Terrain Bike
  • Lagrange
    ...and motor torpedo boat
  • Lagrange
    ...although I doubt if torpedos were unpowered or that they were launched from rowing boats.
  • Lagrange
    ..possibly Made in Taiwan Bikes
  • steve_sordy
    Keep em coming!

All great ideas, but does anyone actually know?
  • robertpb
    robertpb Posts: 1,866
    The French for MTB is VTT, Vélo Tout Terrain.

MTB is MT= mountain, B= bike.
    Now where's that "Get Out of Crash Free Card"
  • JBA
    JBA Posts: 2,852
    When I started mountain biking back in the mid-80's the bikes were known as ATB's - All Terrain Bikes.