Newbie and am i really that unfit?

chigwellben
chigwellben Posts: 15
edited March 2019 in Road beginners
Hi all,

My name is Ben and i am brand new to cycling. I live 7 miles form work and i decided i need to stop being unfit and get some exercise.
I bought a Carrera TDF ltd edition cheap from facebook (Possibly one size too small if i am making sense of the recommendations but it feels ok and ive adjusted the seat height based on watching youtube recommendations) and ive ridden to work just twice and it sat for a while
Yesterday i decided that enough was enough and i need to take it seriously. But i got on the bike and literally within about 3-4 minutes i was breathing heavy and my quads started burning until eventually i had to stop. Got my breath back and pushed on again and within a few minutes i was in the same position. In my 7 mile commute i got off and pushed 6 times to get my breath back and heart rate back down.
Am i really that unfit? Ive been sat on my backside for 10 years with only gym style weight training as exercise and no cardio but that commute was a joke. took me 50 minutes to do 7 miles and i was getting out of breath so fast
One thing i realised is that i didnt eat before i left and had nothing to drink so i was fasted and badly hydrated but is this what i have to expect?
Everyone around me says just keep going and you'll improve. I'm desperate to love cycling and ride everyday but that journey was genuinely discouraging. I will go again but today my legs are aching badly
How do guys ride hundreds on miles at weekends if i cant do a mile without stopping????
Is that normal for a beginner? I used to ride my bike everywhere as a kid without feeling like that

Comments

• whyamihere
    whyamihere Posts: 7,695
    First the bad news - To be blunt, yes, you are really that unfit.